In the northwest of La Palma, the Gofio Museum is located in the twelve-wing windmill of Las Tricias. It is a listed building and was already in operation in 1908, but was moved in 1915 to take advantage of the better wind conditions at the new location. It was rebuilt according to the Ortega system, using almost exclusively Tea, the hard heartwood of the Canary Island pine. Even the canvas sails were replaced by wooden paddles.
Photos: Kike Navarro, Uka Roesch